Trip to Auli


Auli , Yes it’s a place. The place which made me to write on it. I am not a travel blogger and really I don’t know how to describe the journey as I don’t believe in past, I prefer to forget which I left or which have passed. But Auli is the destination, on which I want to write. Don’t know how to start …. Let me give it a shot but believe me, you will not get any important information about terrain and the place.
Travelling is my passion as so Biking. There were some reasons why I did not pick my Bike, the major one that I am staying very close to my family and they do not want me to ride on it. So I preferred car (I told them that I am going by train, sometimes lies are sweet). Auli is around 500 km from Delhi. So you can reach there in a one stretch (we also thought the same).terrain is very scenic, If you really want to see the landslides, Indian roads (don’t know If they really exists), Indian culture go for it. Well we started our journey on 24 January, damn to that music player which took 2 hours to speak up. Music is very important gadget which keeps your mind cool and also you can ignore the rubbish gossip which all your friends doing when you are driving.

So we started at 4 PM and reached Mujjaffar Nagar at 7 (It was heavy traffic from Gaziabad to Mohan Nagar so try to avoid it, start in early morning).We halted near to Mujjaffar Nagar and had Aloo Paratha at Ganapati Dhaba (the same which one can get at Sukhdev Dhaba, Murthal).We had a chap, who belongs to IIT Roorkee so thought to visit the college, It was a nice college but I liked that Punjabi Dhabha near to that college, they serve very good non veg (If u really a foodie go for it).So now we were full tummy and put the foot on accelerator and in 20 min we were in Haridwar.Got a nice hotel “Tayal Dharamshala”,don’t go for the name, It’s a nice cheap hotel which you can find around Haridwar (on Rishikesh Road).you can find a bedroom in 200 bucks (cheap na).We always have cards in our luggage, Cards are good time pass and the my favorite game, So we shuffle around 7 hours and found that it was 4 AM. Slept for an hour and packed myself with my camera and tripod and reached Har ki Podi, the sacred Ghat of Haridwar.The holy water was burning chilled, took dip and clicked few shots.

Returned to the hotel,got ready, had breakfast and started at 10 AM,the worst is waiting and we too.Totally ruined hilly roads,In 2 hours we reached DevPrayag (you will find many prayag on the way which basically means origin).Dev Prayag is a place where river Alaknanda and Bhagirathi meats and then we call it River Ganga.Again I dipped myself here and had a Sulfa with a Baba who is staying near to river .I had a good time with that dhooni Baba as I introduced myself that I belongs to Mathura . he was very curious to know more about Mathura. Spiritualism is the nature.

After spending two hours and having some local sweets (they are really not good),we started at 2 PM and reached NanadPrayag (we crossed Srinagar,Rudraprayag,karanprayag),we stayed at GVNL hotel in the NandPrayag (a cheap and decent hotel to stay for a night),had a camp fire and again indulge ourselves with cards. Hotel manager and caretaker were nice chaps. They told us about all the destinations which we should visit near Auli. Well, we again started at 10 AM and reached Joshitmath in 3 hours.Joshitmath is not the real name.Jyotirmath is the one,you will not get it, until you have not heard it from the Holy man sitting in the Sankhracharya temple.Near Joshimath you will find many places to visit like,Tapovan (the hot water spring),Sankryacharya temple,Narsingh temple.

Auli is very close to Joshimath,There are only two hotels in Auli (GVNL and Clifftop),So before reaching Auli you must have a chat with them and book something there.GVNL is cheap one compare to Clifftop,they charge around 2200 bucks for 2 bedroom and Clifftop charges around 7500 per day.There are two options to reach Auli from Joshimath.One is like heaven and other one hell (if u scared from height).if it is not snowing, take the road and If you love height ,take Ropeway (some says it Asia’s longest one).We didn’t have this option because Ropeway was not working. So It was forced to us to take 4*4 or chained coupled tyre vehicle. They charge about 1500 bucks.People of Devbhoomi are really cooperative and nice (might be they pretend to).
So at last we reached Auli and it was around 7 PM. No, it does not take 6 hours from Joshimath to Auli.Gaurav was the culprit (The manager from Clifftop).

And from here the story starts  ….wait for the next post …surely I will write it!!

5 thoughts on “Trip to Auli

  1. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up
    losing a few months of hard work due to no back up.
    Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

Your feedback is very important for me ..please leave a comment !!!

